close button

For medical school admissions

Visit the Office of Admission for info on application process, financial aid, and student life.

For graduate school admissions

Visit the Office of Graduate Education for info on our many doctoral programs and the graduate education application process at the School of Medicine.

close button

Give online

Use our secure online giving form to make your gift to Case Western Reserve University now.

Make a difference

Find out how you can Take Three Steps to make a difference at Case Western Reserve University.

close button

Welcome to campus

Visit Case Western Reserve University's uniquely urban campus, located in the heart of Cleveland's cultural hub, University Circle. Plan your trip:

Case Western Reserve University
School of Medicine

James E. Arnold, MD
Faculty Councilor, CWRU Alpha of Ohio Chapter

Professor and Program Director
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Pediatric Otolaryngology
Professor of Pediatrics
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital

The Alpha of Ohio Chapter is managed by the SOM Office of Student Affairs.

All questions should be directed to the Chapter email:
Celena Howard, AOA Chapter Coordinator

Chapter elections of new AOA members:

Case students are elected into AOA by a committee of CWRU faculty who are themselves members of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Selection Committee members are given de-identified packets of information on the top honors students in the graduating class. Consideration is given to academic excellence, leadership, service to the community and to the school, faculty nominations, research publications and presentations, and other awards and accomplishments.

Once inducted, the new AOA students elect several faculty and residents into AOA. The students conduct the entire nomination/election process independently among themselves, giving consideration to qualities such as leadership, professionalism and service and, particularly, to commitment and excellence in medical student teaching and mentorship.

Class of 2016 AOA Student Inductees

AOA Class of 2016 Potraits

Class of 2016 Alpha of Ohio Student Officers:

Bradley Lander, President
Arunit (Jessey) Chugh, Vice President
Anisha Noble, Secretary

2016 AOA Faculty Inductees:

Marc F. Collin, MD
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
MetroHealth Medical Center

Raymond W. Liu, MD
Department of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery
Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital / UHCMC

Henry H. Ng, MD, MPH
Center for Internal Medicine - Pediatrics
MetroHealth Medical Center

Robert Wilson, DO
Department of Neurology
Cleveland Clinic

2016 AOA Resident Inductees:

Niranjani Buch, MD
PGY2 Internal Medicine
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Charles M. Burns, MD
PGY2 Internal Medicine Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Mithun Neral, MD
PGY2 Orthopaedic Surgery Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Doug Weinberg, MD
PGY2 Orthopaedic Surgery Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Nate Summers, MD
PGY3 Internal Medicine Resident
Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center

AOA Spring Lecture

Sponsored by the AOA Visiting Professorship

Carol Rossier Bradford, MD

Carol Rossier Bradford, MD
Professor, Otolaryngology
Charles J. Krause, M.D., Professor and Chair,
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery,
University of Michigan Health System
Co-Director, Head and Neck Oncology Program within the Comprehensive Cancer Center

Wednesday, April 27, 2016   SAVE THE DATE!
Location: School of Medicine, East Wing (Robbins Bldg.), Room E401
Time: 4:00 - 5:00 pm
Title: "A Vision of Value-Based Leadership to Navigate the Future of Healthcare"

Dr. Carol Bradford serves as chair of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Michigan Medical School and the Charles J. Krause, M.D., Collegiate Professor of Otolaryngology. She is an internationally recognized leader in the treatment of head and neck cancer.

Dr. Bradford specializes in head and neck cancer surgery and reconstruction, as well as cutaneous oncology and sentinel lymph node biopsy. Her research focuses on identifying and evaluating biomarkers that can predict outcomes in head and neck cancer patients, and developing therapies to combat certain types of head and neck cancer that are resistant to traditional forms of treatment. Bradford has published more than 200 peer-reviewed articles.

During her 16-year tenure as co-director of the Head and Neck Oncology Program at the U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center, she helped to advance it from a small program with a few members to one with 30 members from 10 departments and five schools. She continues to play an active role within the program.

She was elected as the first woman president of the American Head and Neck Society in 2012 and received the 2009 Physician of the Year Award from Castle Connolly for Clinical Excellence. In 2015, she was inducted into the prestigious Institute of Medicine (National Academy of Medicine).

AOA Spring Banquet

Wednesday, April 27, 2016   SAVE THE DATE!

The AOA Banquet is held to honor our new student, resident, and faculty AOA inductees. CWRU Academic Leadership, AOA faculty, and other local AOA members are invited. Invitations will be sent closer to the date.




Published and maintained by the Office of Student Affairs and the Academic Societies
Revised 12/01/17