close button

For medical school admissions

Visit the Office of Admission for info on application process, financial aid, and student life.

For graduate school admissions

Visit the Office of Graduate Education for info on our many doctoral programs and the graduate education application process at the School of Medicine.

close button

Give online

Use our secure online giving form to make your gift to Case Western Reserve University now.

Make a difference

Find out how you can Take Three Steps to make a difference at Case Western Reserve University.

close button

Welcome to campus

Visit Case Western Reserve University's uniquely urban campus, located in the heart of Cleveland's cultural hub, University Circle. Plan your trip:

Case Western Reserve University
School of Medicine

James E. Arnold, MD
Faculty Councilor, CWRU Alpha of Ohio Chapter

Professor and Program Director
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Pediatric Otolaryngology
Professor of Pediatrics
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
University Hospitals Case Medical Center
Rainbows Babies and Childrens Hospital

The Alpha of Ohio Chapter is managed by the SOM Office of Student Affairs.

All questions should be directed to the Chapter email:

Case students are elected into AOA by a committee of CWRU faculty who are themselves members of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Selection Committee members are given de-identified packets of information on the top honors students in the graduating class. Consideration is given to academic excellence, leadership, service to the community and to the school, faculty nominations, research publications and presentations, and other awards and accomplishments.

Once inducted, the new AOA students elect several faculty and residents into AOA. The students conduct the entire nomination/election process quite independently among themselves, giving consideration to qualities such as leadership, professionalism and service, and particularly to commitment and excellence in medical student teaching and mentorship.

AOA Chapter homepage


CWRU Class of 2015 AOA Student Inductees:

To see photos, please CLICK HERE

President: Lindsay Hoogenboom
Vice President: Matthew Alvin
Secretary: Marilyn Wickenheiser

Jared S. Anderson
Lauren C. Beene
Rebecca L. Chota
Yifei Duan
Kathleen Farhang
L. Henry Goodnough
Corina L. Iacopetti
Marissa J. Koning
Adam G. Lamm
Madeleine E. LaRue
Grace M. Lee
Min Jie Lee
Ang Li
Sharon J. Lin
David J. Lingenfelter
Megan M. Lockwood
Kevin Lu
Rohit S. Madani
Christopher R. Marcellino
Joseph Z. Muller
Jeremy T. Rohrlich
Eric D. Smith
Peter A. Surace
Mary Roz E. Timbang
Thalia C. Wong
Joshua A. Wunder

2015 AOA Faculty Inductees:

Jeremy M. Lipman, MD, FACS, FASCRS
Department of Surgery
MetroHealth Medical Center

Ronald J. Magliola, MD
Center for Internal Medicine - Pediatrics
MetroHealth Medical Center

Bradley P. Stetzer, DO

Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
MetroHealth Medical Center

Christopher R. Wyatt, MD

Department of Emergency Medicine
MetroHealth Medical Center

2015 AOA Resident Inductees:

Bryan Hambley, MD, MPH
PGY3 Internal Medicine Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Leland E. Hull, MD
PGY2 Internal Medicine Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Kevin M. Overmann, MD
Chief Resident - Pediatrics
Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital/UHCMC

Clayton C. Petro, MD
PGY3/4 General Surgery Resident
University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Jason Tuckerman, MD, PhD
PGY3 Internal Medicine Resident
University Hospital Case Medical Center

AOA Spring Lecture

Sponsored by the AOA Visiting Professorship

Peter Camillus Neligan M.B.

Peter C. Neligan, MB, FRCS(I), FRCSC, FACS
Professor, Departments of Surgery and Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery
Director of the Center for Reconstructive Surgery
University of Washington

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Location: School of Medicine, East Wing (Robbins Bldg.), Room E401
Time: 4:00 - 5:00pm
Title: "An Academic Career in Plastic Surgery"
Dr. Neligan is a pioneer in many reconstructive techniques. His fields of expertise are facial reanimation, complex reconstruction for cancer patients, and the evolution of microsurgery. Originally from Ireland, Dr. Neligan completed his surgical training there before moving to Toronto, Canada, for further training in microvascular surgery. Dr. Neligan served as Wharton Chair of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery at the University of Toronto from 1996 to 2007. He was recruited to the University of Washington in 2007 to establish the Center for Reconstructive Surgery where he currently serves as Director. Dr. Neligan has authored seven books, over 70 book chapters, and over 170 peer-reviewed articles as well as making over 200 peer-reviewed presentations at national and international meetings and delivering numerous invited lectures. He is the series editor of the third edition of Plastic Surgery (considered THE textbook in the field) and is the former Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Reconstructive Microsurgery. Dr. Neligan is certified by the Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons to practice in the United States, Canada and Ireland.

The Spring Lecture is only one part of the Visiting Professorship which involves one full day of teaching and interacting with students, residents, and faculty. Besides the afternoon lecture, Dr. Neligan's itinerary includes a Department of Plastic Surgery grand round and case presentations with residents, a classroom lecture on how the knowledge of anatomy helps with head & neck reconstruction, and a lab demonstration/practice session of dissection & facial reconstruction surgical techniques for the gross anatomy and surgical anatomy students.

AOA Spring Banquet

Wednesday, April 22, 2015
The AOA Banquet is held to honor our new student, resident, and faculty AOA inductees. CWRU Academic Leadership, AOA faculty, and other local AOA members are invited


AOA Banquet speaker,
Dr. Lolita McDavid,
Medical Director, Child Advocacy and Protection,
Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital
Title of talk: "The Seven Secret Habits of Navy SEALS"


Published and maintained by the Office of Student Affairs and the Academic Societies
Revised 12/01/17