**BREAKING NEWS** NIH/NCRR Announces Five New CTSAs and Adds Coordinating Center

On June 14th at 11 a.m. EST , the National Institutes of Health announced five new Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSAs) that will expand the CTSA consortium and accelerate scientific discoveries into treatments for patients.

Administered by the National Center for Research Resources, these 2011 grants extend the CTSA consortium to 30 states and the District of Columbia. The five new institutions are the Pennsylvania State University, Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey; University of California, Los Angeles; University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City; University of Kentucky, Lexington; and University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. Adding these awardees brings the total number of CTSAs to our planned goal of 60.

Another important award will go to Vanderbilt University Medical Center to initiate and run a Coordinating Center that will promote and facilitate collaboration, sharing and interaction among the CTSAs, as well as with other NIH-funded institutions and organizations. Vanderbilt news release info: www.mc.vanderbilt.edu/news/releases.php