2008 Awardees

The CTSC has provided pilot research funding to investigators and scholars.

The Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative is pleased to announce the awarding of the 2008 Pilot Project Awards to clinical and translational investigators of Case Western Reserve University, and its partner institutions.

Annual Pilot Awardees

Name Institution Project Title Amount
Mark Adams CWRU Development of a Rapid Molecular Assay to Predict Antibiotic Susceptibility in the Nosocomial Pathogen Acinetobacter baumannii $50,000.00
James Basilion CWRU Molecular Imaging of Dysplasia in Barrett's Esophagus $50,000.00
Donna Hansel CC mTOR Phosphorylation and Associated Upstream PTEN Alterations in the Prediction of Urothelial Carcinoma Metastases and Patient Outcomes $50,000.00
John Kirwan CC Insulin Resistance and Fatty Liver Disease: MRS Detection of Liver Lipids After Short-Term Exercise $89,971.00
Henry Koon UH - ICC Identification of genomic lesions promoting nodal metastasis in malignant melanoma $62,392.00
Wai Hong (Wilson) Tang CC Understanding Disease Progression in Inherited Cardiomyopathies: Detection and Longitudinal Monitoring of Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy in Heterozygous MYBPC3 Mutation Carriers in the Geauga County Amish Community $77,780.00
Amy Wilson-Delfosse CWRU-SOM Establishment of a CTSC Parkinson's Disease Phenotypic and Genotypic Registry $50,000.00

Core Utilization Awardees

Name Institution Project Title Amount
Anwar Ahmed CC Effects of DBS for Parkinsons Disease on Symptoms of Restless Leg Syndrome and Sleep Problems $3,170.00
Marc Ashby CC The Role of Elastic Fiber Homeostasis in Female Pelvic Floor Dysfunction after Pregnancy and Delivery $10,000.00
Stacy Brethauer CC Evaluation of Gut Hormones Following Gastric Bypass for Morbid Obesity in a Rat Model $25,000.00
Qi Cheriyath CC Ambulatory blood pressure levels inpatients with restless legs syndrome $6,000.00
Venugopalan Cheriyath CC Molecular Analysis of the Anti-apoptotic Protein G1P3 on Survival Signaling on Breast Carcinoma $25,000.00
Mina Chung CC Validation of Genetic Polymorphisms Associated with Atrial Fibrillation $24,998.00
Kathleen Derwin CC In-Vivo Bioreactor Model to Tet Repair Grafts $25,000.00
Kathleen Derwin CC Optimization of Systemic Treatments to Induce Circulation of Mesenchymal Stem Cells $25,000.00
Matthew Eagleton CC Role of PKC-Isoenzyme in Oxidative Stress-Induced MMP Expression During Aneurysm Formation $25,000.00
Samar Farha CC Idiopathic Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension: a Bone Marrow Disease $25,000.00
Stephen Fening CC The Effect of Humeral Head Defect Size on Glenohumeral Stability $24,750.00
Nancy Foldvary-Schaefer CC Identifying Sleep Apnea Syndromes in the Heart Failure Population: Comparing Validated Sleep Questio $13,500.00
Robert Heyka CC Comparison of Platelet Function Inhibition with Different ASA Doses in the Dialysis Population $9,300.00
Tomislav Ivsic CC Comparison of SERCA2a and Phospholamban in Adult and Pediatric Failing and Nonfailing hearts $25,000.00
Matthew Kalady CC Molecular & Genetic Changes in Colorectal Cancer Metastases $25,000.00
Brian Lane CC Expanded Analysis of Renal Tumor Biopsies $24,984.00
Peter Mazzone CC The Identification of Lung Cancer through the Analysis of Exhaled Breath by Colorimetric Sensor Array $25,000.00
Courtenay Moore CC Current Perception Thresholds of the Female Genitalia in Sexually Active Women $25,000.00
Christine Moravec CC Psychophysiologic Remodeling of the Failing Human Heart $25,000.00
Sherif Mossad CC Incidence of Rhinovirus Infection in Autologous and Allogeneic Myeloblative Hematopoetic Stem Cell $23,520.00
Carmen Paradis CC Informed Consent for Research in the Emergency department $5,000.00
Ahmed Ragheb CC Defining Sperm DNA Damage in Infertile Men with Varicocele and its Correlation with Oxidative Stress $24,782.00
Anita Reddy CC NQO1 Polymorphisms and Mortality in Acute Lung Injurg $13,680.00
Wai Hong (Wilson) Tang CC Detection of Autoimmune T-cell Responses to Cardiac Troponin I in Idiopathic Dilated Cardiomyopathy using Enzyme-Linked Immunospot Asssay. Winner of the 2010 CClinic Cardiovascular Fellows Competition, $25,000.00
David van Duin CC $24,999.00